urocyon: Grey fox crossing a stream (Default)
[personal profile] urocyon
"The frontier, not the city, has always been the land of heresy. . .Appalachia's hillfolk, often portrayed as the lowest-common-denominator buffoons of mainstream Christianity, have historically boasted the nation's lowest rates of organized church affiliation."
(Jim Goad, The Redneck Manifesto, hb p. 151)

I can't say this surprises me, and access to organised religion hasn't exactly been a problem for probably 200 years here.[1] In my experience, a private approach to spirituality is considered far preferable to riding in the rigging of the church.

I am rather tired of listening to some Neopagans[2]--from elsewhere, with one very strange exception--going on and on about being so oppressed by living in the armpit of the Bible Belt (not my mixed metaphor). This is a prime case of people making themselves feel oppressed, presumably for lack of something better to complain about. In the reality I see, nobody else particularly cares about their beliefs. Most have more important things to think about than other people's religious beliefs, or lack thereof, were they even considered a legitimate concern of others--and this is one of the things considered very much one's own business, within the culture.

It's pretty hypocritical to tar the people around one with the "nasty intolerant one-step-from-fundie" brush, before one has even bothered talking to those people at any length. The fact that a good percentage find any sort of organised religion distasteful, in this case, is only the beginning of the problems with that one. It also verges on the asinine to react rudely to new neighbors and coworkers over friendly, pro forma invitations to church dinners and the like, and then claim this as evidence of oppression. You're unpleasant to other people for no reason they can discern, so you're being oppressed? These are not Inquisitors, they're generally nice enough Methodist ladies trying to make one feel welcome. Self-righteousness doesn't encourage friendship.

What irritates me perhaps the most, however, is that people so concerned about other people's attitudes--much less outright discrimination--seem to have absolutely no qualms about buying into stereotypes based on where people live, of all things. I could dress it up in (basically skewed) different terms, and go on about largely ignored ethnic groups in America, and/or about classism (a bit less skewed), but that's more than enough complication for now; it boils down to bias based on location, which is flimsy indeed if people care to give it one whit of examination. The smear pattern is classic enough to be easily spotted as such, given a little thought--I believe the only frequent element we lack is drinking the blood of unbaptised babies. It's rather frightening how long the effects of dehumanising those who are sitting (often quite literally, in the case of these natural resources) on something suddenly considered valuable can last.

Yes, I've been a little harsh again. I suppose I should be used to seeing the symptoms of discouraging critical thinking by now, but it's frustrating.



[1] It was a problem earlier--at least somewhat locally--largely because a lot of our early British and Irish settlers had good reason to want out from under C. of E. control in eastern Virginia. There may have only been sporadic visits from travelling ministers for a while, and not a priest to be had, but at least there was no prosecution of (non-C. of E.) married couples for fornication, and similar nonsense. (But one of the many motivations in most cases, naturally.)

[2] ObDisclaimer: I'm in no way implying that anywhere near all Neopagans do this, nor that only Neopagans behave in this general manner. Poorly thought-out behavior is universal, after all. Anybody else who might have been considering trying to nickel-and-dime me to death, just don't. Please. *g*

Date: 2003-12-20 11:48 pm (UTC)
ivy: (academic-hoodie)
From: [personal profile] ivy
Well said.

This is a prime case of people making themselves feel oppressed, presumably for lack of something better to complain about.

There are, I'm convinced, a fair many people out there that genuinely do feel happy only when they have something to bitch about, or can complain about how hard their life is, or things of that sort. It's as if they have to have sympathy from others or something is wrong.

It's pretty hypocritical to tar the people around one with the "nasty intolerant one-step-from-fundie" brush, before one has even bothered talking to those people at any length.

Hear, hear. Or tried and gotten the immediate rejection, or at least something. Condemning anyone without information is, well, stupid. If we're wanting other people to be accepting and understanding of us, we should try to extend them the same courtesy.

Date: 2003-12-21 03:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] saigh-allaidh.livejournal.com
I've long held the opinion that there is a faction of NeoPagans who are Pagan not because they believe in the God/desses and are drawn to worship Them, but because they hate Christianity. Further on this, I believe that there is a faction in that faction that are actually drawn to Paganism, rather than, say Atheism, because they have a persecution complex they want to live out. They are Pagan ONLY to have a reason to claim they are persecuted. These are the people who either feel they must keep it secret or they'll be fired OR they feel they must be LOUD and obnoxious about it so that they can hope to be fired and then have a complaint...and, either way, when they do get fired, usually because they don't do their job or they are disruptive, they blame it on persecution. I have met so many like this...and their constant hostility is the REAL reason no one likes them.

I've even had one of them accuse ME, another Pagan, of persecuting her because she is a anti-defamation activist....well, I AM prejudice against her because she's ANNOYING and tried to take over something I started and turn it into an anti-defamation AND Wiccan-only thing. *blink*

Anyway..sorry to have started ranting in your journal. LOL

Oh...and I'm sure that there will be some NeoPagans who will be shocked if they ever notice that our site got three awards from a horse site run by a very conservative Catholic, who really, really thinks our stuff on Paganism is neat. He even raves about it in his link to us. LOL So much for them all being out to get us, huh?

Date: 2003-12-22 09:19 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] urocyon-c.livejournal.com
Anyway..sorry to have started ranting in your journal. LOL

No problem...not that I'd be the best one to say anything about that sort of thing lately. ;)

I do know what you're talking about. What is it that draws the ones who enjoy feeling persecuted, I wonder? It's not like it's really a very effective way to get people to look at them funny, if that's what they're looking for. *shrug* I used to try harder to understand some aggravating people's motivations.

Date: 2004-01-01 07:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] saigh-allaidh.livejournal.com
I don't know, some people do seem to love it. Someone once suggested that part of this phenom is that the people in question always felt persecuted, probably simply because they were always annoying and no one liked them because of that, and were drawn to Paganism, especially Wicca/Witchcraft, as a place to have kindred spirits and to have a "just" reason to feel persecuted. *shrug*

Date: 2003-12-21 08:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] caldair.livejournal.com
> fornication and similar nonsense

I'd like to see this as the title of a cd or something.

Date: 2003-12-22 09:21 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] urocyon-c.livejournal.com
Hmm...not a bad one, at that. You're welcome to it. *g*

Date: 2003-12-22 08:26 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] finalfantasyfrk.livejournal.com
That's an interesting entry. I'm no NeoPagan nor have I known very many at all, but I'm no longer a Christian either. I hate Christianity and yet not. Really I just hate the stupid, redneck, closed-minded, hypocritical, fake followers. There are too many of them, which became the loss of my Christianity. Now I'm really Agnostic, but if some form of religion really pisses me off (like someone going on and on about God), then I'm Atheist. Religion is an interesting subject.

I'm sure also that there are many people who feel discrimated against. I often don't know if this is legit or not. I think maybe everyone's discrimiated against, or maybe a lot of people just act like they are for attention.

September 2011

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
111213 14151617
18192021222324
252627282930 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 08:00 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios