urocyon: Grey fox crossing a stream (Default)
[personal profile] urocyon
Today has been fairly peaceful. I needed some rest. In that spirit, I think it's takeaway night! I'm tempted to pretend that kebab meat and salad on chips is a balanced meal.

Especially after the disappointment that was last night's attempt at Country Captain Chicken in the slow cooker. It was missing something, but I couldn't quite figure out how to balance the flavors. Max enjoyed the leftovers, at least.

The main drawback to getting prepared food in is probably not having leftovers. They're convenient for me to snag during the day, and I'm trying to remember to eat more. It took me days to figure out that if I'm getting up earlier and walking more, another meal is probably in order, to avoid blood sugar weirdness! Yep, that might explain it. *shakes head* Trousers getting looser yet again was hard to ignore.

Tentatively, it looks like Max will be able to stay. :)


I got discouraged dealing with The Excitajump last night, but seem to have figured out a better way of handling it today. (Good thing, since it kept jarring my lower back.) He's doing it out of excitement, so I started giving him a chew toy after telling him "OFF" and pushing him down, to redirect it some. He'll usually play instead of jumping up again. He's also doing much better at walking without pulling, especially before bed, when there are not so many distractions. We've had a couple of very pleasant night walks in a row, and we only had to stop a few times this morning because of pulling.

Overall, things are improving, and I'm having an easier time dealing with Excitamax. There's nothing like aches and fatigue from managing a boisterous dog to make you feel old and decrepit! :/ I'm trying not to get feeling too overwhelmed, since things are already improving, but having to be "on" most of the time is tiring. Max is not a very calm boy. He's kind of a goof, but I like him anyway!

So, I went ahead and bought some doggie paraphernalia, since he'll likely stay around to use it. His new hoodie was here in time for this morning's walk, and he didn't mind wearing it. The poor thing has thinner fur than B.B.'s, even, especially on his near-bald belly. I keep worrying about all the broken glass strewn around, so he also has some dog boots on the way. I sure wouldn't walk around out there barefoot on a bet. :-| Also a new ID tag, since they are a good idea as well as legally required in the UK, along with a less raggedy collar to hang it from. His previous humans also liked the studded leather look, while I don't think it suits.

The cats also get ID tags, since the little metal tubes to hold paper info keep unscrewing themselves with wear. Now we just need to persuade Mirrors to keep his collar on. :) He and Punkin got new ones last week, and he hasn't slipped it yet. *crosses fingers*

Some more plants also came this morning. I couldn't resist an order from Vernon Geranium Nursery--hard to go wrong with geraniums and fuschias!--and got the bulk of it today. Yesterday we got a few geraniums, a bareroot Campanula "Sarastro", and a lavender "Little Bee Blue & White" picked just because it was so cute. Today it was more geraniums (mostly trailing ones, from a lucky dip overstock offer), and some mini fuschias. I'm getting fonder of fuschias all the time, and am interested in how these mini cultivars will turn out. There are a few scented geraniums yet to come.

Between the weather and being tired, I haven't yet potted up today's lot. Before long, I may have to buy some 4" pots. *gasp* In a fit of attempted tidiness, I threw away a bunch of extra ones which kept getting loose and skittering all over the patio, along with most of the saved yogurt cups and plastic produce/drip trays.

Dealing with yesterday's, I was glad their planting info specifically mentioned not planting perennials straight out; instead, they suggested potting them up to grow on until after the last frost. Otherwise, I'd have planted the lavender and the Campanula straight outside. A lot of things seem to need longer periods with added protection, in this climate. Yet another cluster of things to relearn. :)

It's getting to be time to start a variety of seeds. Guess I'll have to dig up some suitable containers, and move most of the plants off the dishwasher!

Date: 2009-03-12 05:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gipsy-dreamer.livejournal.com
I demand to see photos of Max - I adore Staffies :D

And yay for your new plants! I made the mistake of chucking Forget-Me-Not seeds straight out in the border last year and nothing came up... this year they're in the greenhouse. I'm desperate for Forget-Me-Not because I always adored that flower and want it in memory of my best friend, who passed away last year.

Speaking of plants... I might go and put some of my new seeds into some pots before it gets too dark :)

Date: 2009-03-13 07:11 am (UTC)
vatine: Generated with some CL code and a hand-designed blackletter font (Default)
From: [personal profile] vatine
There's these...
But from the comments, it seems you've seen them already.

Date: 2009-03-13 08:14 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gipsy-dreamer.livejournal.com
*facepalm*

Memory like a colander, that's me - I swear I'd forget my own name sometimes :)

It was nice being able to see the cute again though, thanks! :D

September 2011

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
111213 14151617
18192021222324
252627282930 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 07:29 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios